“Tell all the Truth …”

Standard

I was reading some poetry this evening, cause that’s what lit-geeks like me do, and serendipitously found this Emily Dickinson poem that resonated deeply with me on many levels, especially in regards to my quixotic pursuit of the paradigm shift with educational technology that I spoke of in my last post.

Tell All The Truth

Tell all the truth but tell it slant,
Success in circuit lies,
Too bright for our infirm delight
The truth’s superb surprise;

As lightning to the children eased
With explanation kind,
The truth must dazzle gradually
Or every man be blind.

Essentially, I hear Emily Dickinson stating that all the razzle and dazzle of truth must be revealed slowly and mindfully, otherwise we would be blinded by its immediate radiance.  This, too,  is true for learning in our etmooc course (http://etmooc.org/)!  Essentially, the learning is not a linear process but, rather, it is a indirect process that slowly reveals “truth”.  We are drawn in to explore and question based on our personal interest and needs –  taking the time to find the truths to the  circuitous paths we are each exploring.

About thehunni

I am an English teacher with FFCA Charter Academy who struts and frets her hour upon the stage. After attending the 2011 NCTE conference in Chicago, and being inspired by the likes of Penny Kittle, Jim Burke and Kelly Gallagher, I decided to embark on the journey to "practice what I preach!" So - here it goes. I'm sure this will be a process that batters and bruises, but hopefully I come out a mere bit wiser as I blog beside my students as a teacher and a learner. I try to blog some of their assignments; otherwise, I use the space to reflect on my learning and teaching!

Leave a Reply

